Urenio Watch Watch: IntelCities Measurement

The Smart21 Communities of 2011

The Intelligent Community Forum (ICF) announced its list of the Smart21 Communities of 2011. The list includes communities from 12 nations. There are six communities from the USA, four from Canada, two from China and one each from the UK, Brazil, Netherlands, Australia, France, India, Hungary, Taiwan and Greece.

The Smart21 of 2011 are:

  • Birmingham, UK
  • Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
  • Chongqing, China
  • Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil
  • Dakota County, Minnesota, USA
  • Danville, Virginia, USA
  • Dublin, Ohio, USA
  • Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
  • Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
  • Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
  • Northeast Ohio, USA
  • Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
  • Riverside, California, USA
  • Shanghai, China
  • Sopron, Hungary
  • Stratford, Ontario, Canada
  • Taoyuan County, Taiwan
  • Trikala, Greece
  • Windsor-Essex, Ontario, Canada
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

This year’s Smart21 are using educational networks and universities – both physical and virtual ones – in more innovative ways

said ICF Co-founder Louis Zacharilla during the announcement ceremony in South Korea.

Places like Sungkyunkwan Unversity in Suwon have become the factory floor for the knowledge workforce. It is appropriate and symbolic that our announcement is being made here, at one of Korea’s best universities.

The Smart21 announcement is the first stage of ICF’s annual Intelligent Community Awards cycle. It is followed by the naming of the Top Seven Intelligent Communities of the Year, selected from among the 21. The cycle concludes where one of the Top Seven will succeed Suwon as Intelligent Community of the Year 2011.

More info