Urenio Watch Watch: IntelCities Measurement

The Smart21 Communities of 2012

The Intelligent Community Forum announced its list of the Smart21 Intelligent Communities of 2012. The honorees include 4 communities from Europe, 10 from North America, 3 from Latin America, and 4 from Asia. This year recipients are a snapshot of communities from around the world serving as platforms for innovation.

Each year ICF defines a theme that guides the nominations for the Intelligent Community of the Year. The 2012 theme is Intelligent Communities ‘“ Platforms for Innovation. Innovation is one of ICF’ s five permanent Indicators, which are used to judge communities seeking award status. However the special theme focuses on how Intelligent Communities create uniquely powerful innovation ecosystems on a foundation of information and communications technology.

The Smart21 of 2012 are a diverse group which represent the degree to which the intelligent community movement has spread. I am particularly pleased that Mexico and Finland, two very diverse cultures, are represented for the first time. We can also see how perennial communities in the USA, Canada and Taiwan continue to create communities for the 21st Century based on innovation and how communities that few have heard of before have become great places to live

said ICF Co-founder Louis Zacharilla.

The Smart21 of 2012

  • Arlington County, Virginia, USA
  • Austin, Texas, USA
  • Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
  • Columbus Region, Ohio, USA
  • Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil
  • Dakota County, Minnesota, USA
  • Danville, Virginia, USA
  • Durango, Mexico
  • Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
  • Heraklion, Crete, Greece
  • Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
  • New Taipei City, Taiwan
  • Oulu, Finland
  • Prospect, South Australia, Australia
  • Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
  • Riverside, California, USA
  • Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
  • Stratford, Ontario, Canada
  • Taichung City, Taiwan
  • Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Chiapas, Mexico
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

More info